Why do whites hate, demonize, fear and look down on blacks? •November 21, 2012 • Reblogged from Abagond:

Insight and Dialogue

Abagond

Note: The comment section here is closed. Please go to the repost if you want to leave a comment.

Why do many White Americans hate, demonize, fear and look down on blacks? I am no scientist or scholar, but here is I how I currently think about it. This post is very much a work in progress.

There are plenty of things that keep white racist thinking in place:

  • Racist messages in jokes, history books, the news and on television, etc,
  • Material self-interest,
  • Fear of becoming an outcast among whites

and so on. But this is not the heart of the matter.

Not even material self-interest. After all, plenty of poor whites are racist. About all they have to show for it is this: “At least I’m not black.” And that gives it away: it is about white self-image.

My current understanding of the white self-image:

  1. Narcissism –…

View original post 416 more words

~ by Mbeti on November 21, 2012.

5 Responses to “Why do whites hate, demonize, fear and look down on blacks? •November 21, 2012 • Reblogged from Abagond:”

  1. […] Why do whites hate, demonize, fear and look down on blacks? […]

  2. Personally I see it as an instinct by White people to try to degrade that which they fear and many White people do fear the Black race. And I say this speaking as a White person.

    • I think it has more to do with phenotypic nonadequacy rather than fear and there is no black race just as there is no white race – only phenotypic groupings or populations. Also Albinic/white people are members of the sapien species and we have little to no instinct ,most all of our behavior is learned.

      • I know that I sometimes feel freaked out when I think about how there are people in the country who look different than me, is that what you mean by phenotypic nonadequacy? Yesterday while I was taking my dog for a walk I saw a Black person and I started thinking about how the ancestry of the Black person comes from a completely different place than my ancestry and then I got this general feeling of uneasiness about things because I started thinking about how America is random people from different parts of the world all thrown together on this land.

  3. What I mean by “phenotypic nonadequacy” is that white/albinic peoples phenotype (the external/visible expression of one’s genotype) particularly their epidermis(skin) lacks what black/melaniated people have – skin pigmentation(composed of the biochemical melanin).

    More simply white people do not have skin pigmentation – which is why in absence of skin pigmentation their skin appears white.

    This is the biological condition known as albinism or partial albinism (as when you have people who self Identify as white because their skin is white(devoid of pigment) but have black or brown hair and/or iris’s(eye color).

    In regards to ” how America is random people from different parts of the world all thrown together on this land.”

    Its not that random and most choose to come here ,also the varying phenotypes arose due to various sapien populations being geographically isolated(primarily due to migrations) but now at this point in our evolution we are all coming together again ,and america seems to be the place.

Leave a Reply

 
Beast of No Nation

"I used to think it was mere homesickness, then I started getting it at home"

Atheism Africa

Promoting Secular Values from an African Persective

"This is why you're broke!"

by BrassKnuckleFinance.com

Black Atheists

We are a minority within a minority.

Dr. Kwaku's Blog

Afrikan World Civilizations, Youth History and Film Festival

